Creative Writing Faculty

Creative Writing Faculty

Chantel Acevedo

Advisor of Sinking City Literary Journal

Chantel Acevedo’s novels include Love and Ghost Letters (St. Martin's Press), which won the Latino International Book Award and was a finalist for the Connecticut Book of the Year, Song of the Red Cloak, a historical novel for young adults, A Falling Star (Carolina Wren Press), winner...

Ann M Ansay


(305) 284-4110
A. Manette Ansay’s first novel, Vinegar Hill, was published in 1994, followed by a story collection, Read This and Tell Me What it Says in 1995. She has since published four more novels: Sister (1996); River Angel (1998); Midnight Champagne (1999), a...

Jaswinder Bolina

Associate Professor

(305) 284-2113
Personal Site Jaswinder Bolina is author of Phantom Camera (Green Rose Prize, New Issues Press and Hachette 2013) and Carrier Wave (Colorado Prize, Center for Literary Publishing, Colorado State University 2007). His poems have appeared widely in national and international literary journals and in...

M. Evelina Galang


(305) 284-5573

Amina Gautier

Assoc. Professor

Amina Gautier is the author of two short story collections: Now We Will Be Happy (University of Nebraska Press, 2014), which won the Prairie Schooner Book Prize and At-Risk (University of Georgia Press, 2011), which won the Flannery O’Connor Award for Short Fiction. More than eighty of her short stories have been published or are...

Mia Angela Leonin

Senior Lecturer

Mia Leonin is the author of four poetry collections: Fable of the Pack-Saddle Child (BkMk Press), Braid, Unraveling the Bed, and Chance Born (Anhinga Press), and a memoir, Havana and Other Missing Fathers (University of Arizona Press). Leonin has published poetry and creative nonfiction in New Letters, Prairie Schooner, Guernica, Indiana Review,...

Maureen T Seaton


(305) 284-2183
Maureen Seaton has authored fourteen poetry collections, both solo and collaborative—most recently, Stealth, with Sam Ace (Chax Press, 2011); Sinéad O’Connor and Her Coat of a Thousand Bluebirds, with Neil de la Flor (Sentence Book Award, Firewheel Editions, 2011); and Cave of the Yellow...